Donate to Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal

Героям Слава! (Glory To The Heroes!)




Designated COVID-19 lockdown regions for the Canada Worker Lockdown Benefit

Your region may be designated as a lockdown region if it:

  • has been in lockdown or subject to capacity-limiting restrictions of 50% or more for more than 7 consecutive days
  • was designated by the Governor-in-Council

If you work in these regions, you may be eligible for the Canada Worker Lockdown Benefit (CWLB).

List of designated regions

The following regions have been designated as lockdown regions under the Canada Worker Lockdown Benefit Act.

Designated COVID-19 lockdown regions
Designated lockdown region Start date of the benefit period End date of the benefit period
K’atl’odeeche, Northwest Territories 2021-10-24 2021-11-20
Behchokò, Northwest Territories 2021-10-24 2021-11-13
Tuktoyaktuk, Northwest Territories 2021-11-07 2021-12-11
Aupaluk, Quebec* 2021-11-07 2021-12-25
Kangirsuk, Quebec* 2021-10-24 2021-12-11
Kuujjuaq, Quebec* 2021-10-24 2021-12-18
Tasiujaq, Quebec* 2021-11-14 2021-12-11
Akulivik, Quebec* 2021-10-31 2021-12-25
Salluit, Quebec* 2021-10-24 2021-12-25
Puvirnituq, Quebec* 2021-11-28 2021-12-18
Newfoundland & Labrador 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Prince Edward Island 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Nova Scotia 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
New Brunswick 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Quebec 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Ontario 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Manitoba 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Alberta 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
British Columbia 2021-12-19 Ongoing**
Nunavut 2021-12-19 Ongoing**

* Quebec’s designation as a lockdown region, which started on December 19, 2021, applies to these communities.

** The benefit period will end on the Saturday of the week in which the lockdown measures imposed by the provincial or territorial government cease to apply in the province or territory.